i read you like a poem or a holy book

3 Jun

i’m sorry i’ve been so MIA, i’ve just been going through a really rough time.

but not everything has been terrible, far from it even, and i’d be a complete ingrate to have it come off that way. i’ve been working for the past two months now as the Associate Fashion Editor at a magazine here in the philippines and it’s been such a wonderful experience : ) it’s really such a huge milestone for me because i used to space out hardcore in high school trying to imagine what it would be like to hypothetically work for a magazine, and here i am actually getting paid to do it! it’s unreal. i don’t generally like to speak at length about my personal life but there are very few things that i’ve really put my heart into and been proud of and this is one of them at the moment.

okay okay, less talking, more pictures.

fish & chips

cat scapula necklace by os accessories

mini burgers at topshop opening

best purchase ever from space encounters

PFW

blue cheese puffs

catfish salad

astrud shoes at sapato manila

things can be swell if you let them be.

sometimes anyway.

4 Responses to “i read you like a poem or a holy book”

  1. Patricia Ann June 5, 2011 at 2:53 AM #

    Hi!

    I discovered your blog through Frances of Pink Horror Show a couple of months ago. I haven’t said anything since then but I have thoroughly enjoyed every bit of your site. The food posts especially when you went on your trip to Japan definitely tugged at my heart strings and made me miss my old hometown. I also noticed that you haven’t posted in awhile and was a bit sad since a lot of the blogs I’ve stumbled upon and loved ended up disappearing without a trace. I’m glad you’re back on posting! I also noticed that you don’t have an e-mail available posted on here and as inappropriate for me to ask what I’m about to ask on a public comment box, I’m sorry in advance!

    Anyway, I am a Filipino currently residing in Toronto. I have been wanting to get into the the editorial/magazine publication for quite some time now. I have been thinking for a few months now to return to Asia since accommodation and living wise is much cheaper but I have been skeptical about getting a competitive salary. I read that you recently were hired as an associate fashion editor — congratulations! Would Philippines would be a good place to be at in terms of working for a magazine that focuses on editorial fashion or graphic design (what I studied in University). I know this is inappropriate and I’m sure a bit of a generalization since it varies from company to company, but I was wondering if you’re being paid an OK rate at your new job? By OK I mean, enough to pay for rent and food and perhaps even a vacation?

    It would be really great to know your insight on the matter since I don’t really know many people who are in this career path who currently resides there.

    If you would like to e-mail me with your response, send me a message at mail@theshapesofthings.com

    Thank you!

    • ofsaltandsea June 5, 2011 at 6:17 AM #

      hi! oh wow i really appreciate this comment 🙂 i’m always so happy when i hear people actually like my blog, thank you so much 🙂 let me get back to you through email. hope my answers help out a bit.

  2. Daud June 7, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

    Sammy! how have you been? amazeballs pics u got there. glad to know u enjoy your work. saw your shoot online at candy magz, lookin goodddd. take care and miss you xx

    • ofsaltandsea June 7, 2011 at 6:59 PM #

      daud i miss you tooo!! i love looking at your london pics and living vicariously through you 🙂

Leave a Reply

