Head On

1 Aug

Sorry for the supreme slacking. I’ve had a lot on my plate getting ready for the move back to Manila and just generally trying to soak up as much of Singapore as I can before heading back home next week.

First of all the how awesome was the Night Festival! Hosted by the National Museum, it was held over 2 nights (the 16th and 17th of July) and allowed free admission and pretty much unlimited access to all the exhibits and special events (live bands, torture-themed amusement carnivals, flea markets, etc.)  at all the surrounding art museums from 7:30PM up till 2AM. It was amazing. I can’t ever imagine anything of this scale happening in Manila (not smoothly anyway), and I’m just so happy that I got to experience it. It’s incredible how far Singapore is trying to push itself as an arts hub; I think it’s so commendable.

Anyway, I don’t know what this says about me but my favorite by far was 8Q (aka the museum for babies).

SAM (Singapore Art Museum) which is right next to 8Q had a lot of really great contemporary art pieces that I couldn’t get enough of. We even went back both nights just to see them all again.

The craziest and most intense work though was hands down Cai Guo-Qiang‘s ‘Head On‘ at the National Museum.

Unreal. You have to have complete respect for anyone who is not only able to conceptualize this sort of thing but is also able to painstakingly recreate it time and time again in maddeningly arduous detail. Just incredible.

Leave a Reply

