Whip It

5 Jan

I can’t help it… I LOVED Whip It!

I’m a huuuuge sucker for frothy coming-of-age teen fillers, but this one was just so sweet and came from a good place.

I was genuinely surprised that Drew Barrymore directed so well. She actually managed to capture a lot really good shots, but I don’t doubt that (at least in part) a lot of that owes to the fact that she somehow wrangled Robert Yeoman (The Royal Tenenbaums, Rushmore, Darjeeling, read: Wes Anderson) as the cinematographer.

And hello Maeby Fünke!

Alia Shawkat grew up to be such a babe, I can’t handle it. She’s really one of the best parts of this movie.

4 Responses to “Whip It”

  1. denise January 5, 2010 at 2:01 PM #

    oh man im so excited to see this!! some of the shots do look really good and i love drew barrymores face lol i love it when she plays these kinda bad-ass chicks

    • ofsaltandsea January 7, 2010 at 12:17 PM #

      drew’s so cute, i love her fun little films

  2. pink horrorshow January 6, 2010 at 2:09 AM #

    for the longest time I was thinking that Alia was the girl from Spy Kids…I was so wrong.

    I NEED TO SEE THIS MOVIE!

    • ofsaltandsea January 7, 2010 at 12:17 PM #

      haha it’s not like a masterpiece, but it’s sweet, innocent fun. i enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

